French Regulator Wants Player Sharing to Begin

France’s gambling regulator is reportedly anxious to begin player-sharing agreements with other European jurisdictions and has contacted Italy about its progress towards implementing the practice. France, Italy, Spain, and Portugal signed an official agreement to allow player sharing in July.

France’s gambling regulator ARJEL is reportedly pushing to begin an online gambling player sharing agreement early in the new year.

Local media reports say the regulator has contacted Italy—one of four countries to agree to player sharing—for an update on their progress towards starting the player sharing agreement.

In July, the gambling regulatory bodies of France, Italy, Spain, and Portugal signed an agreement to merge their online poker player pools in a bid to improve markets in all four countries. Player sharing had been scheduled to begin in either late 2017 or early 2018.

Italian poker news outlet AssoPoker—citing unnamed sources—said ARJEL is pushing to begin the player sharing in early 2018. Officials for ARJEL have reportedly contacting the other regulators about the start-up timetable. It is expected that France, Portugal and Spain will begin sharing players early in the year with Italy coming on later, the report said.

Italy has yet to open a bidding process for operators seeking to renew their or enter the Italian gambling market, which could delay their entry.

Related Articles

Subscribe to Newsletter

Sign up to receive the latest online gaming and sports betting promotions, news, and information.

History Playbook

On This Day In Sports History

February 20, 1988 — South Carolina blows a 14-point lead and loses 98-88 to Louisville in double overtime at the Carolina Coliseum in Columbia.

On This Day In Sports History

February 21, 1993 — The West outlasts the East 135-132 in the NBA All-Star Game at the Delta Center in Salt Lake City. Michael Jordan (Bulls) is the leading scorer with 30 points for the East.